I own many bags, at any one time, i can have like 5 bags, one for each purpose. And they have been piling up in one corner of my room, even though i threw out 3 of them a month ago. In a bid to look for one bag that can almost replace all of them, i stumbled onto Timbuk2 messenger bags.

I am not a messenger on bike, my job doesn’t require me to skip around town with loads in store. However I like having the space in my bag to contain all that i might want to bring around, my laptop, books, a jacket, or even for a short 3 day trip. I might even have my helmet and some change of clothing in there if i cycle to work.

Getting a bag you like from Timbuk2 was easy. You can customize one, pick the colors you like, down to the color of the logo. Pay for it online and get the bag shipped to your doorsteps. Its more expensive than the ready-made ones, for sure, so i browsed around and found the (RED) Products Special Edition Red Racing Strip messenger. First, its cheaper and second, 5% of the proceeds will go and save someone in Africa.

Here are some pictures of this amazing bag and most of the features found in it. If you have a chance, get a feel of the bag, the quality of the material and workmanship cannot be felt from pictures alone.

This is how it looked like. Oh, i forgot to mention, the size is medium, and is already quite large in my opinion. Can’t imagine how big the XL will be.

The Red label that comes with the bag.

The stitched logo . Pity the color, i rather its red to compliment the bag.

The main material is ballistic nylon, doesn’t appear to break easily under load.

The reflective tab at the end of the buckle. To make the bag carrier more visible in traffic.

The exclusive red buckle. You can’t get this for those off-the-shelves or customized bags.

The view from the back.

Some rings around the back to hang accessories.

The shoulder strap. Doesn’t look like much but…

comes with thick padding underneath!

Opened up. The 2010 version comes with more pockets for the organizer. But first…

the cover now comes with two velcro straps.

There are four pockets on the front. You only see three in the front, the fourth is by the side.

The fourth pocket can be seen from the side.

Its called the Napoleon pocket, allows you to access the pocket without opening the bag cover.

A key ring can be found from the topmost pocket.

A tab for you to hang warning lights should you go cycling.

The interior is huge!

Wah sian, it’s made in China.

A document sleeve that is more than big enough for A4 sized documents.

More organizer pockets inside. Space for pens, thumb-drives etc.

See another zipper up there?

More pockets!!! Can slot some commonly used cards.

This extra strap is a cross strap, helps to keep the bag stabilized while cycling so that the bag remains secured and won’t swing around.

Can take my helmet and still have lots of space available.

No problem with my laptop too.

I got a feeling that this bag will last me for a very long time, its hardy, big, stylish and comfortable (so far). Make me feel that the $135 is very well spent indeed.