I had a poll here sometime ago to ask for opinions on which is the nicest helmet to get. I was really bent on getting the red/white design for 737, and when the bike shop Chapter 2 Cycle informed me that stocks have arrived, i didn’t want to wait another day before rushing down.

But it was weird. I was there but something else caught my eye. It is the 747 in red/black design. I am kinda inclined towards this color combination since i am in the process of placing an order for similar color themed messenger bag. Suddenly, in the shop, the red/white of 737 didn’t appeal to me so much. Where did all the excitement go?

I gave in to my impulse, asked if it was alright for me to change my mind and paid for the 747. It cost me $130, which is more expensive than my current helmet, Met Testagrossa at $95. I am really broke now, i thought as i was paying.

Once home, i took the helmet out of its box and played around with it. The weight and rigidity of the helmet are impressive but it isn’t the case with the straps. Compared that to the more sophisticated one on the Met.

Simple plastic piece to hold the straps together on the Limar.

The one on Met can be locked to prevent accidental pulling of the straps.

The fitting on both helmets are good, using different mechanisms; the Met using two adjustable buckles (can i call them buckles?) to tighten the helmet, while the Limar uses a round knob to do the same job so i don’t have to worry about the helmet too tight on any one side.

The Met tightening device. Need to press and slide the two buckles towards each other.

A better design from Limar.

The chin-strap from Limar is also of a better quality, featuring a sponge pad around the strap for absorption of sweat.

There are also more paddings inside the helmet, giving the helmet a really snug fit on my rather big-sized head.

As you may have noticed, there are wire mesh (gauze) at the front vents of the helmet. The main purpose of these is to prevent insects from getting into my hair and possibly distracting me.

Some more pictures of the new and not-so-old helmet.

Without visor.

With visor in front (i didn’t attach it).

My Met.

Didn’t quite like the rear design of this helmet. Totally prevent any airflow from getting out of the helmet, thus ventilation is not very good inside.

Which one looks better?

Red mushroom.